Migration Assistant Tool

Updated

You can transfer backed up data from one laptop to another by using the Migration Assistant tool. The laptop that runs the Migration Assistant is the destination computer. The laptop whose data is transferred is the source computer.

If the version of a backed up file is newer or older than the version that exists on the destination, the destination file is overwritten. The files and folders are restored with their original security attributes.

After the administrator prepares the laptops by backing up the Well-Known folders, end users can transfer backed-up data from one laptop to another laptop.