Creating a Blackout Window for a Server Group

Updated

On this page

You can define a blackout window at the server group level to prevent operations from running during certain time periods. By default, backup operations run for 24 hours without restriction.

When blackout windows are configured, operations that would normally start within the blackout window go into a queued state. After the blackout window ends, the queued operations resume automatically.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Manage > Server groups.

    The Server groups page appears.

  2. Click the server group.

    The server group properties page appears.

  3. In the Blackout window section, click Add.

    The Blackout window dialog box appears.

  4. In the Name box, enter a name for the blackout window.

  5. To include only a few backup types in the blackout window, move the Operations toggle key to the left, and then select the backup types to black out.

    Note:

    • By default, all backup types are included in the blackout window that is created at system level.

    • The operations apply to the ones that you select and will not affect the hidden operations, such as Auxiliary copy.

  6. Under Do not run job, select the days, weeks, and times to include in the blackout window.

  7. To enable the blackout window for dates, move the Between these dates toggle key to the right, and then enter dates in the Start date and End date boxes.

  8. To skip the jobs that are scheduled to run during the blackout window, instead of putting them into a queued state, move the Do not submit job toggle key to the right.

    Note: If the Do not submit job toggle key moved to the right and an interactive job is submitted, the Metallic software queues the interactive job during the blackout window.

  9. Click Save.